Assault / Violent Crimes

Assault / Violent Crimes
South Florida Violent Offense Attorneys

Violent crimes usually result in one person causing harm or serious bodily injury to another individual.  Therefore, offenders who commit violent crimes in Florida are usually prosecuted aggressively by the State.  If you have been involved in an altercation that resulted in you being charged with a violent crime, you are in need of an experienced Palm Beach criminal defense attorney.

Delray Beach Theft Defense Attorney
At McLaughlin Morris, P.A., we have experience defending clients who have been accused of committing violent crimes in Palm Beach County, Broward County, and Miami-Dade County.  We will help alleviate your stress by giving you valuable legal advice and assisting you throughout the legal process.

Contact the dedicated defense lawyers at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. today at (561) 404-0529 to schedule your free consultation.  We are available 24 hours per day, seven days per week.

Information Center on Violent Crimes in Florida
Violent Crimes Defined by Florida Statutes
Penalties for Violent Crimes
Resources for Violent Crime in Florida
Working with a Quality Violent Crimes Defense Lawyer in Delray Beach

Back to Top

Violent Crimes Defined by Florida Statutes
When an individual uses or threatens to use force or violence against an individual, he or she can be charged with a violent crime.  Some of the most commonly committed violent crimes in Palm Beach include:

Assault (Fla. Stat. § 784.03): This offense involves the threat of force or violence, by word or action, that causes the victim reasonable fear that he or she will be assaulted. Assault is usually prosecuted as a second degree misdemeanor.

Battery (Fla. Stat. § 784.011): When an individual physically and intentionally makes contact with or strikes another person, or otherwise intentionally injures him or her against the victim’s will, the offender can be charged with a third degree felony.

Aggravated Assault/Battery (Fla. Stat. §§ 784.021 & 784.045): If an individual commits assault or battery with the use of a firearm, knife, or other deadly weapon, and has the intent to cause or causes serious bodily harm to the individual, the offender can have his or her charges upgraded to aggravated assault or aggravated battery.  Aggravated assault is a third degree felony, while aggravated battery is considered a second degree felony.

Robbery (Fla. Stat. § 812.13): This offense occurs when an individual takes property of another individual by use of violence or force, and intends permanently to deprive the owner of the property.  Depending on the circumstances, this offense can classified as either a first or second degree felony.

Manslaughter (Fla. Stat. § 782.07): If an individual causes the death of a victim due to negligence, and without a lawful justification, he or she can be charged with a second degree felony.

Back to Top

Penalties for Violent Crimes
If an individual is arrested for a violent crime in Palm Beach, he or she could face the following penalties if convicted:

Second Degree Misdemeanor: Maximum of 60 days in jail, and/or a fine of up to $500.
First Degree Misdemeanor: Up to a year behind bars, and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Third Degree Felony: Up to five years of imprisonment, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Second Degree Felony: Potential of 15 years in prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
First Degree Felony: Prison sentence of 30 years to life, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
The penalties mentioned above are potentially life altering.  To give yourself the best chance of avoiding such potentially devastating penalties, contact a defense lawyer in Palm Beach who has experience representing clients like you.

Back to Top

Resources for Violent Crime in Florida
Chapter 784 of the Florida Statutes: This chapter of the Florida Statutes defines the various violent offenses such as assault, battery, felony battery, aggravated battery, aggravated assault, and other violent crimes.

Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Department: The Sheriff’s Department of Palm Beach County maintains the safety of tourists and residents by enforcing laws and ticketing or arresting individuals who violate them. Their office is located at:

3228 Gun Club Road,
West Palm Beach, FL 33406
Phone: (561) 688-3000

Back to Top

Working with an Assault Defense Lawyer in Palm Beach County
The attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. will fight on your behalf to clear your name and do everything within their power to have your charges reduced or dismissed.  We serve the areas in and around Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Palm Beach County.

Call Drew McLaughlin and Jeff Morris today at (561) 404-0529, 24 hours a day / 7 days a week, to arrange your free initial consultation.